Following up on Twitter

Posted: October 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

So just last week, there was a bit of a position shift over at Twitter Headquarters and a hint at the future of advertising on Twitter. Well, now this hint is a reality, according to the New York Times.

In the article, Twitter has been busy over the past two weeks. The  company has introduced several advertising plans and courted Madison Avenue at Advertising Week. This is the biggest financial effort Twitter has had since April when it introduced a much loved (not) means of advertising. Oh yes, the Promoted Tweet.

I think I just got chills.

I thought it was interesting how the article compared Twitter to Google and Facebook. At first I was a bit skeptical. I mean, Google is a big search engine must-have phenomena and Facebook is also a can’t-live-without type of social tool for the younger crowd. Sure, Twitter is social media but compared to Facebook?

Both “google it” and “facebook me” have become household sayings. People can’t even say “I’ll tweet this later” correctly 100 percent of the time. I was in class the other day and professor said “Twitted.” I don’t blame him. All the twits and tweets and twats….It can be a bit confusing.

But still, the numbers are solid. In the past two years, Twitter has grown to 160 million users from three million. That’s a lot. Maybe it is similar to Facebook.

Well, at least Twitter now has advertisers, including Starbucks and Microsoft. Keep an eye out for Promoted Accounts. This is a new method also being implemented on Twitter to advertise to people like you and me. What is it exactly? I guess you can now follow a Twitter account for Xbox, which will just keep tweeting advertisements about…well Xbox and Xbox-like things.

I wonder if that’ll work. If it does, bravo. Nothing like getting the sheep to come to you. Well played, Twitter. Well played.

 

Comments
  1. rachelanoel says:

    Does this mean they’re replacing promoted tweets with promoted accounts, or are they both here to stay?

  2. I can live with it as long as they don’t find a way to sneak promoted tweets onto user timelines. I shudder at the thought.

Leave a Reply

